I Will Dance At Your Wedding and Sing to Your Children

When my son, Joe was deployed to Iraq in 2004, he wrote us a heartfelt letter after the loss of one of his fellow soldiers and several of his own brushes with death. A part of the letter said:

joe uniform Iraq

I think a lot of nights, restless nights, of the days to come.  I ponder and daydream of the good and the bad and the anxiety weighs on me like a ton of bricks.  Will I make it back?  Will I be so different from when I left?  What will I do with my life?  Will I be successful?  Will I be happy?

I answered him back: I will dance at your wedding and sing lullabies to your children. Joe made it back in 2005. My wedding prediction came true. I danced at his wedding.

joe dance

Now, it is with great joy that I ask you to join me in celebrating the birth of my new grandson. Thank God for our blessings. Congratulations to my son and his amazing wife, Katie.  I composed a lullaby and I will sing to baby Joey.

baby joey

Save

6 thoughts on “I Will Dance At Your Wedding and Sing to Your Children

  1. Beautiful story. I remember sending letters like that back home when I was overseas. Sometimes you just lose your vision of the future and it’s hard to see beyond the muck and mire of war that’s in front of you. I’m sure your words helped him to see through all the grime.

Leave a comment