I Promise

Every week, someone asks me to pray for a son, daughter, friend, or in-law, deployed to Afghanistan. Last night,I saw my friend, Noel Burr at the grocery store. Her son and son-in-law are serving our country again.

When I was checking out, Becky Huston told me her son has a deployment coming up. I promised to pray for all their safety. Please join me in holding Dave, Thomas, Tim and all of our troops in prayer.

Almighty God, We ask your blessing upon our deployed troops, those on land, at sea and in the air in Iraq, Afghanistan and around the world. Hold our Marines, Sailors, Soldiers, Airmen and Coast Guardsmen in the palm of your hand as they enter Harm’s Way. Protect them as they protect us in defense of liberty and the increase of freedom. Bless them and their families for the sacrifices and selfless acts they perform. Remind us all that courage is not the absence of fear, but the strength to do the right thing in the face of fear. Be with us also here at home as we pray for their safe return and peace in our time. Amen.

-Chaplain (CAPT) Jane Vieira, USN

3 thoughts on “I Promise

  1. Adding Dave, Thomas, and Tim to my daily prayers too. I am so ready for all of our boys…and girls to come home! I’ve always read about ‘praying without ceasing’. I know know what that means. There is no more ‘morning’ prayer time…it is morning, noon, and night, and when you can’t sleep, and all the minutes in between. So thankful that we have the freedom to do that!

    • Dearest Ranch Wife,
      I agree with you. Praying without ceasing is when prayer becomes like breathing. I’ve always told my children to offer what ever they are doing as a prayer. My daughter Katie got her degree in classical ballet performance. I told her to use each step in her dance as a prayer.
      When Joe was in Iraq, and laying cement for six months on an airstrip, I told him to use each inch as a prayer for someone or for himself. He surprised me by saying he was offering it up for the enemy.
      There is so much power in prayer. My pastor, Fr.Dan said the God never changes, but his favor could change. That’s where prayer comes in.
      Thank you for your faithful prayers. Love Janie

Leave a Reply

