110 Years Old:The Last Surviving U.S. Veteran of World War I Dies

My grandmother, Jenny Troha told me a story about how she was in love with a soldier and that they were going to get married when he got back from the war (WWI) . He never returned. Jenny ended up marrying my grandfather, Matt instead of her soldier.  I was never able to ask Jenny for more information about her soldier as she died unexpectedly a short time later.That was thirty two years ago. This storyabout the last surviving soldier of WWI made me think of Jenny and all those soldiers that have gone before us and given their lives for freedom’s sake.

The last US surviving veteran of WWI, Frank Buckles died on Sunday. Frank convinced an Army recurituer that he was 18 years of age in 1917, when in reality he was only 16 1/2 years old.  The article states:

When asked in February 2008 how it felt to be the last of his kind, he said simply, “I realized that somebody had to be, and it was me.” And he told The Associated Press he would have done it all over again, “without a doubt.”

Leave a Reply

