Stars and Stripes

Our voices rang out on Saturday, August 21, at a flag retirement ceremony on the square in Bedford, Ohio.

Oh, say can you see, by the dawn’s early light,
What so proudly we hailed at the twilight’s last gleaming?
Whose broad stripes and bright stars, through the perilous fight,
O’er the ramparts we watched, were so gallantly streaming?

When the song was  finished, the crowd was silent as a worn flag was carried out. Led by Ernie Walker, scout master and Boy Scout Troop 447, American flags were retired by cutting them star by star and stripe by stripe. When an American Flag is no longer a fitting emblem for display it is destroyed in a dignified manner by burning and then burying the ashes. The ashes from the retired flags will be interred at Bedford Cemetery.

My thoughts were with our deployed soldiers past and present. When taps were played, I offered prayers for our beautiful country and what we value.  God bless America.

2 thoughts on “Stars and Stripes

  1. Hi Janie,

    I am Jimmy Flynn, the patriotic singer/songwriter who met you and performed my patriotic songs at the Bedford Flag Retirement Ceremony on August 21, 2010. I wanted to let you know that I mentioned you and your great book on my website http://www.JimmyFlynn.net on both my “What’s New” page and my Photo page (Flag Disposal). I took the liberty (no pun intended) of putting links to your website on both pages and putting a picture copy of your book (with link) on both pages.

    Best of luck with your book. Hope to see you again at forthcoming patriotic events. Please let me know if you would like to include a link and mention of me on your site as well.

    Thanks and…God Bless America!

    Jimmy Flynn, Patriotic Singer/Songwriter

  2. Hi Jimmy,
    I enjoyed your songs and could listen to you sing all day! Thank you for the links to Love You More Than You Know Know on your site. I will be posting about you and linking to your site soon. Take good care and keep singing your beautiful songs.
    Janie

Leave a Reply

