Invitation

Mary Pat Wise writes:

My strong, blue-eyed son was being sent to Iraq. I knew it was going to happen, but I was surprised how quickly he was deployed. He graduated from John Carroll University in January 2003, completed Army officer training in June and was now being sent to war in August of the same year. He was going from his base in Germany, so we did not get to send him off.

Check out the stories on the blog. In the search box type in My Story. Click on the title (for example -My Story: Mary Pat Wise) and read stories from mothers of soldiers.

We invite you to write your story.

4 thoughts on “Invitation

  1. Even though I am not quite done with the book, I am getting a lot of idea’s of things to send to Adam ( who is also stationed at Al Asad).I will be sending him some playing cards,as well as a football,since football season is almost here.And I think I will be sending him and his unit a Christmas tree, and decorations.I think he would also like the sports page so he will know what going on with his teams.Just a little note here, I am my self an Air Force brat.My father retired from Grissom Air Force Base in Peru, Indiana, after 20 yrs.(1972). My step-father retired from Forbes Air Force Base, in Topeka Kansas,after 23 years.(1974). my oldest brother, after 29 years of Air Force,retired in 2006,from Mountain Home, Id.I have a brother-in-law stationed in Tampa, Fl. who is in the Air Force.They both have been to Afghanistan. My son-in-law was also in Afghanistan.He and my daughter are stationed at Fort Benning Ga. I also have had a brother that was a Marine in Cal. in the late 70’s. So as you can see, I belong to a military family. GOD bless all are sercivemen and women, and bring them all home save.

    • Hi Denise,
      Glad you are getting some ideas for packages to Adam! Thank you so much for the service of your family! I thank God for all the sacrifices your family has made to protect all of us. Prayers continue for all of our servicemen and women.

  2. I just got done putting up my yellow ribbon on my tree, and I am getting one for my mother,and one for my brother in Kokomo Ind.I also finished the book.I heard from Adam again. He said Al Asad is like Cherry Point, only it is in the desert.He did sy he was going out on an QRF (quick reaction force).That is all for now. I will keep everyone up to date with what is going on with me and my son. Denise

    • Denise,
      It is wonderful that you heard from Adam!! My yellow ribbons are still on
      my trees and on the big tree in our cul de sac. Consider writing a review for the book on amazon. Have a good night. Janie

Leave a Reply

