July 4th Holiday

MaryanneAs we approach the fourth of July, I am reminded of all of the mothers who kissed their sons and daughters goodbye as they left to fight bloody wars- from the American Revolution to Operation Iraqi Freedom, and Afghanistan, I imagine all of these brave women waving as the troops leave home. This is the sacrifice we offer for our freedoms-the meaning behind the blue star in our window which we all know all too well. For some of us, the blue star changed to gold. My heart breaks for those mothers who gave the ultimate sacrifice. I remember how my son loved the 4th of July fireworks. Little did I know he would someday become a Marine who would defend the freedoms we now celebrate. My prayers go out to our troops and to all of their mothers who with courage and pride and faith continue to honor their bravery and kiss them goodbye.
God bless America.
Mary Anne Mayer

8 thoughts on “July 4th Holiday

  1. Dear Mary Anne,

    My wife and I enjoyed your presentation tonight at the Hudson library. I’ll be starting the book soon and plan on picking up a few more copies for friends in the months ahead. Your book’s broad appeal will be to the many Americans who love freedom and truly appreciate the soldiers who defend freedom with their lives.

    I wish you all the best,

    Fred

  2. Mary Anne,

    Excellent reminder that the upcoming holiday of July 4th
    is more than a day off for a picnic.

    The freedoms won by our ‘Independence’ must never be taken
    for granted. Freedoms come with a price, that many
    paid for with their lives.

    I am a member of an online Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
    support site. Not because my airmen has PTSD, but because I
    care about so many who do.

    What most of us take for granted, our cities setting off fireworks
    in celebration of July 4th, or folks around the neighborhood
    celebrating with fireworks, can cripple a service member who has
    PTSD.

    The following message was posted on June 1, 2009

    Mom of PTSD Troop:

    The other thing I think needs to be brought up is that fireworks have begun, along with thunderstorms.
    It put our family on a tailspin over the weekend. So just keep your eyes and ears open. The “missions” may increase, the anxiety may increase along with becoming more angry, secluding themselves, and more aggressive or passive actions may come through…
    we all hate this time of year from now until after the middle of July…so breathe when you can…

    Nobody is alone…remember that.
    and remember to keep yourselves in check.
    we all care, even when everyone doesn’t believe that.”
    (end of post)

    ——-

    I’m not suggesting we ban fireworks, but just be mindful
    that somewhere, someone is reliving an experience from battle.
    Their families are in that battle too. A PTSD battle.

    Please say a prayer.

    Regards,
    Deb Estep
    Proud Air Force Mom

    • Deb,
      Thank you for reminding us that the war does not end once the soldier returns home. The residual effects do indeed include the sounds of war. Speed bumps on the road, fireworks, storms – all of these and more can take the soldier back to war in a millisecond. We must continue to support these brave men and women after they return home.
      Always in our prayers,
      Mary Anne

  3. Thank you to all who contributed to this wonderful Book,.. I have not read it yet, but just reading the comments lets me know this was written from a Mother’s Heart… My nephew lost his Life in Iraq.. His helicopter was shot down.. He was a Navy Medic for the Marines.. I can still see the pain in his Mother’s face as she cuddles with his son and Daughter… She has now traded her Blue Star for a Gold One. I’am a Blue Star Mother and I pray for those whose Children gave their lives and for those who are still Fighting for our Freedom, Thanks again , I will read your Book..

    • Corinne,
      Thank you for your son’s service. I am so sorry to hear about your nephew. My heart cries with you. Thank you for his bravery and selfless courage and for your kind words about the book. The stories are a gift from the moms. I was inspired by them and honored to collect them. I pray every day for our servicemen and woman. Keep those prayers coming. Let me know what you think of the book.

    • Corinne,
      My prayers go out to you and your family. Navy Medics serve such a vital role for our Marines. My son’s corpsman died in his arms during an attack in Iraq. There are no words to express such grief. I am so sorry to hear that your nephew gave his life for our country.
      Thank you and your son for your service. We mothers also ‘serve’. We hope that our book offers hope and encouragement.
      God bless,
      Mary Anne Mayer

Leave a Reply

