Memorial Day

 I have been thinking about about my Dad, a WWII Navy veteran. He never spoke about his service to our country, especially to his daughter. He chose the Navy, even though he didn’t like water. (My Dad said his brother in the Army had things crawling into his bedroll while sleeping on the ground so that being on the water was cleaner.) My Dad was part of the team that kept  the boilers running on the ship. He did tell me if they were hit by a torpedo, they would be the first to go. His hair was blonde when he enlisted, but by age 21 it was completely white . He served from the age of 18 to 22 years of age. When my son was going to be deployed, my Dad finally started talking about his war experience to his grandson. Unfortunately, my Dad died within weeks of my son’s deployment. My Dad taught us this saying,”Pink sky at night is a sailor’s delight, pink sky in the morning is a sailor’s warning.” Whenever I see a beautiful sunset, I know my Dad is smiling down on me. 

God bless all of our servicemen and woman.

Sailor’s Delight 

 

Childhood is

Perched on a 

Pink sky summer night

In a red maple tree 

Reading

Feeling safe 

As my Father

Walking by 

Looks up

With a grin

Once more

So Strong 

So Wise

Ready to protect me

 

Janie Reinart

Leave a Reply

