My Story: Carol Eichner

Watching the televised images of people being carried out of the Pentagon, and not knowing if one of them was my son, was devastating. I thought to myself, “Is this what war was like?” My daughter-in-law felt certain that he had been able to get out and was safe as she had talked to him earlier in the day. However, as his mother, I needed to hear his voice. Thankfully, an e-mail later that day confirmed that he had made it out. When he was promoted to Lt. Colonel, we were able to attend the ceremony at the Pentagon. We saw the area that had been hit. Part of it is now a beautiful chapel. It is hard to describe the feeling I had looking at that area and thinking back to that day, 9-11, knowing now, the war that it had begun.

 

This entry was posted in My Story and tagged , , , by Janie Reinart. Bookmark the permalink.

About Janie Reinart

A storyteller, educator, and freelance writer, Janie seeks ways to give people a voice to tell their own stories through prose and poetry. She and her husband, Ed, are grateful for their five children and grandchildren. Most weekends, you will find Janie praying and singing with the choir at Holy Angels Catholic Church.

One thought on “My Story: Carol Eichner

  1. Dear Carol,

    I can’t begin to imagine the terror you must have felt. !!!!

    WOW, I had no idea there was a memorial chapel.
    I found these links to tell about it.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentagon_Memorial

    http://www.pentagonreplica.com/

    This is a link to the outside Memorial. I did know about this.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/nation/interactives/pentagonmemorial/index.html

    THANKS for sharing your story.

    xo xo
    Deb Estep
    Twinsburg, Ohio
    Proud AF Mom
    SSgt Vinny

Leave a Reply

